True to the red campaign colour of B Major!, the Flanders Symphony Orchestra opts resolutely for a particularly fiery programme. Despite its firm foundations in the Bruges city centre, the orchestra transports its audiences to Spain, via Argentina to Mexico and back, without leaving any ecological footprint. The orchestra lets the music speak, and how! Ravel's southern 'Bolero', the stirring foolhardiness of Ginastera's 'Estancia Suite' and the sultry works of Copland and Lalo promise to bring a flush to the most stubborn winter cheeks. Musical talent seems to flourish in less exotic soil as well: West Flanders native Mathias Coppens - not yet 30 years old! - composed a work at the request of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra and specially for B Major! that will be premièred before the Bruges audience. Consider yourself warned of a local peak in global warming!

Practical info

  • Wednesday 1 March 2017
  • Concertgebouw Brugge, 34, 't Zand
  • Doors 8 p.m.
  • Organization: Symfonieorkest Vlaanderen
  • Tickets €10 (presale ) / €20 (doors)